Welcome to Waterfowl Farm! I suppose it was inevitable that I would eventually succumb to the blogosphere though I fought the impulse long and hard! My purpose in finally starting a blog was to provide a source of practical, useful information, encouragement and, occasionally, a few laughs for me and my gardening friends. I’m also hoping this blog will widen my circle of gardening buddies and that you’ll join in with comments and questions as the spirit moves you.

One thing I’ll try very hard not to do is pontificate. As gardeners we are all prone to the sin of making broad, sweeping generalizations (“That will never grow here!”) based on very limited data (our own backyards). If asked, I can only tell you what works for me in my garden in the panhandle of Idaho (Zone 5), but that same advice may not work for you. Heck, it doesn’t even work for my neighbor who lives one mile down the road from me and is sitting (poor woman!) in a Zone 3 micro-climate!

Gardeners also tend to allow ourselves to be bullied and browbeaten by all the gardening “experts” out there whether it’s the USDA, the local university extension office or the president of the gardening club. By all means, read and learn all you can and respect the experience of others, but don’t be afraid to take a chance and swim upstream. Not all experiments succeed but, boy, the bragging rights for the ones that do are worth all the failures!

Thanks for stopping in; I look forward to getting to know you all better.

